Fireflies and Candlelight

fireflies

I’m excited about this image. I didn’t know where I was going with it, and this is the result. I chose birthday candles because they seemed fresh, and also because I have an impending birthday. I like my birthday, and I associate it with rebirth, and renewal.  It is a day that is my own. I associate its astrology and numerology with my being.

I suppose it is unclear whether the candles are moving forward or backward in time and space, and thus more symbolically where the years are going? The obvious is that they are moving downstream, progressing as time and water must flow, but where do they emerge and where do they go? Its almost as if her hand is releasing them, and not collecting them. I like the confusion in the image. It is much like time and life itself. Though the laws of nature are set, the path is unclear.

 

Leave a Reply

