The kitten

The kitten

This photo takes me back. For decades there has been a framed photo of a grey tiger kitten in tall grass that has hung on one wall or another in my parents house. It must have been from the late 70s or early 80s. It hung in my sisters room, probably my brothers, maybe even in the dining room, before eventually finding a place in my bedroom for the past decade or so. It hung there when I was in middle school, high school, through college, and even many years later. Eventually, I decided that it did not fit the ‘artistic boudoir’ decor of my room, and I took it down. I was always slightly annoyed by the generic quality of it, and had been meaning to remove for some time, but for one reason or another never had gotten around to it. I can’t recall where I placed it, but I think I had a deep enough connection to the nostalgia that I didn’t toss it. Makes me long for home, and the memories of the framed photo of the grey kitten in the grass. This is my homage to that image which has had a place in my life for as long as I can recall.

Leave a Reply

