The poet in my heart: Sarah

The poet in my heart: Sarah

How do you remember first meeting your best friends? I feel like there’s a magic between people whom you’re meant to know and love for a lifetime. There’s a feeling of significance when you meet them. I met Sarah during an animation class which I really had no business being in, since I hate drawing cartoons, and she was there as an elective requirement to her graphic design studies. Seeing how she is now, and how our styles and ideas have changed, but grown with each other its funny to think back on that young girl in college who dressed a little bit hippy/grateful dead, (I was pretty ‘hippy’ too with my dreadlocks) who is now an mature, graceful woman about to embark on a new path in life.
I remember how I wanted to be friends with her, so I called her up on the phone like a date to hang out. I think I said something to the effect of ‘hey, is this sarah? hey, this is Kelly, I had your number so I thought I’d give you a call, how’s it going?…’ It was awkward that I’d held onto her number from class and told myself that I was going to make an attempt to branch out and make new friends, but I was compelled to do it. I’m so happy I put myself out there and that Sarah felt the magic too. Friend love, it’s an amazing thing. Think of your friends, and that magic feeling today.

3 thoughts on “The poet in my heart: Sarah

Leave a Reply

