Autumn in the Smokys

Autumn in the Smokys

I work for the national parks seasonally and this year I had the pleasure of working at Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Its a stunning place. I’ve traveled a lot over the past decade since graduating from college, having visited many cities, as well as national parks and forests in 43 states and 5 countries. I’ve lived and worked in every region of the US, I have concluded that the East is where I want to be. I love the landscape of East TN and Western NC, it’s much like the rural hills of my home in northwestern Pennsylvania. The wondrous fall foliage, the rushing waters, and the diversity of wildlife are what amaze me about this place. Autumn, it’s my favorite time of year. I like it when I awake to its pink light on dew covered leaves, and the frost that sprinkles the earth. Every artist must have their place to muse, and the Eastern states are mine.

Leave a Reply

